I. Girls Generation

Girls Generation also known as Sonyeo Shidae (SNSD) is a Kpop Idol group that is managed by SM Entertainment. SNSD is composed of 8 members (originally 9) namely: Taeyeon, Tiffany, Seohyun, Sooyoung, Yuri, Sunny, Yoona, and Hyoyeon. These girls debuted on 2007, however, it was not until 2009 when these girls have gained worldwide fame due to the release of the song, “Gee.” Gee has topped almost all music charts that time and it was considered as Most Popular Song of the 2000s in South Korea. Their genre mostly are bubblegum pop and electropop.

Now, I shall speak in my point of view. These girls have captured my eyes because of their song, “I Got A Boy.” Mainly, I have started being a kpop fan because of these girls.

One day on 2012, I was browsing through YouTube and then I caught a glimpse of a video that was entitled Girls’ Generation 소녀시대_I GOT A BOY_Dance Teaser. I ignored it of course, what do you expect? However, because of the attracting cover of the video, I thought maybe 26 seconds is not a big deal anyway. And so I watched. Little did I know that from that moment, I was already attracted. And so I have tuned in to smtown’s YouTube Channel and waited for the music video to be released. I wasn’t disappointed – in fact, SNSD’s I Got A Boy was the first kpop music I have danced with.

Aaand enough with the background and experience, now I shall give you a minor profile of each of the members. Photo credits to the owners.

 

tae

Taeyeon

Stage Name: Taeyeon

Birth Name: Kim Tae Yeon

Position: Leader, Main Vocalist

Birth Date: March 9, 1989

Instagram: @taeyeon_ss

 

ppanyang

Tiffany

Birth Name: Stephanie Hwang (스테파니 황)

Korean Name: Hwang Mi Young (황미영)

Position: Lead Vocalist, Rapper

Birth Date: August 1, 1989

Instagram: @xolovestephi 

seo

Seohyun

Stage Name: Seohyun (서현)

Birth Name: Seo Joo Hyun (서주현)

Position: Lead Vocalist, Maknae

Birth Date: June 28, 1991

Instagram: @seojuhyun_s
Twitter: @sjhsjh0628

 

soo

Sooyoung

Stage Name: Sooyoung (수영)

Birth Name: Choi Soo Young (최수영)

Position: Lead Dancer, Lead Rapper, Vocalist

Birth Date: February 10, 1990

Instagram: @hotsootuff

yul

Yuri

Stage Name: Yuri (유리)

Birth Name: Kwon Yu Ri (권유리)

Position: Lead Dancer, Lead Rapper, Vocalist

Birth Date: December 5, 1989

Instagram: @yulyulk 

 

sunny

Sunny

Stage Name: Sunny (써니)

Birth Name: Lee Soon Kyu (이순규)

Position: Lead Vocalist

Birth Date: May 15, 1989

Instagram: @515sunnyday

yoon

Yoona

Stage Name: Yoona (윤아)

Birth Name: Im Yoon-A (임윤아)

Position: Lead Dancer, Lead Rapper, Vocalist, Visual

Birth Date: May 30, 1990

Instagram: @yoona__lim

 

hyo

Hyoyeon

Stage Name: Hyoyeon

Birth Name: Kim Hyo Yeon

Position: Main Dancer, Main Rapper, Vocalist

Birth Date: September 22, 1989

Instagram: @watasiwahyo 

Next → II. 2ne1

Leave a Reply

